What I learnt as a Church Apprentice: Introduction

Dear Readers,

From the end of August 2013 to the end of August 2014, I worked as an apprentice at a large church in London.  I originally applied at the start of my final year of university (which seems like a lifetime ago), to see if going into full time Christian work was God’s plan.  I also wanted to learn how to lead Bible studies.

In all honesty, I found the year tough.  I spent the first six months often thinking (mostly to myself) that the church had made a terrible mistake in letting me work for them.  And then I often spent the rest of the year yearning to be in a secular workplace instead.  Not all the time, but fairly often.

Yet at the same time, it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.  I know I’ve learnt and grown so much, because I now feel like a very different person.  I’ve loved reading the Bible by myself and with others AS MY JOB. And I’m so thankful for getting to know more brothers and sisters in God’s household, who have become very dear to me.  And it’s been such a privilege to see God at work in wonderful ways in my and others lives.

I’m planning on sharing what I’ve learnt on here regularly.  Why?

1) I think more Christians should know what working for a church is like.  I personally think that there are misconceptions about Christian work which need to be addressed and corrected.

2) I want to record as much of this down for posterity before it all disappears from my brain.

3) This is a perfect excuse for me to blog regularly, now that I have more time.

4) I want to encourage and build up my brothers and sisters in the Lord.

5) I want those of you who don’t follow Jesus to learn more about Him and His church.

DISCLAIMER (Please read this):  What I write is from my own personal experience.  It’s not representative of every person’s experience of undertaking a year of Christian work.  I haven’t named the church I worked at for the sake of my own privacy (if you know me, then you’ll know which church it is anyway).  It’s also so no one can accuse me of libel (though I have very little to say which is bad about this church).  I don’t know everything about Christian work.  I’m not always right.  I’m not perfect.  I’m a very unique person (yes, everyone is unique, but me more than others).  I am sinful, but through God at work within me, growing more and more like Jesus as the years progress.  For that I am indebted to Him and very grateful for His kindness and goodness to me when I don’t deserve it.

Hopefully I’ll be able to share these insights regularly on here for the next couple of months.  Please feel free to comment, send me a message about them or share the posts with others.  I’d love to hear what you think.

Keeping you posted,

Immy x

3 thoughts on “What I learnt as a Church Apprentice: Introduction

Leave a Reply

